

## PLANNING AND BUILDING STANDARDS COMMITTEE MONDAY 4TH JUNE 2018

A MEETING of the PLANNING AND BUILDING STANDARDS COMMITTEE will be held in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNCIL HEADQUARTERS, NEWTOWN ST BOSWELLS TD6 0SA on MONDAY, 4TH JUNE, 2018 at 10.00 AM

J. J. WILKINSON, Clerk to the Council,

28 May 2018

BUSINESS	
1.	Apologies for Absence.
2.	Order of Business.
3.	Declarations of Interest.
4.	Minute. (Pages 3 - 14)
	Minute of Meeting of 30 April 2018 to be approved and signed by the Chairman. (Copy attached.)
5.	Applications.
	Consider the following application for planning permission:-
	(a) Land South of Peelgait, Selkirk - 17/00923/PP (Pages 15 - 30)
	Erection of two dwellinghouses. (Copy attached.)
	(b) Garden Ground of the Gables, Smith Road, Darnick - 18/00396/PPP (Pages 31 - 42)
	Erection of dwellinghouse. (Copy attached.)
6.	Appeals and Reviews. (Pages 43 - 50)
	Consider report by Service Director Regulatory Services. (Copy attached.)
7.	Any Other Items Previously Circulated.
8.	Any Other Items which the Chairman Decides are Urgent.

## NOTE

Members are reminded that, if they have a pecuniary or non-pecuniary interest in any item of business coming before the meeting, that interest should be declared prior to commencement of discussion on that item. Such declaration will be recorded in the Minute of the meeting.

Members are reminded that any decisions taken by the Planning and Building Standards Committee are quasi judicial in nature. Legislation, case law and the Councillors Code of Conduct require that Members:

- Need to ensure a fair proper hearing
- Must avoid any impression of bias in relation to the statutory decision making process
- Must take no account of irrelevant matters
- Must not prejudge an application,
- Must not formulate a final view on an application until all available information is to hand and has been duly considered at the relevant meeting
- Must avoid any occasion for suspicion and any appearance of improper conduct
- Must not come with a pre prepared statement which already has a conclusion

**Membership of Committee:-** Councillors T. Miers (Chairman), S. Aitchison, A. Anderson, J. A. Fullarton, S. Hamilton, H. Laing, S. Mountford, C. Ramage and E. Small

Please direct any enquiries to Fiona Henderson 01835 826502 fhenderson@scotborders.gov.uk